Home Sports Andre Ayew becomes the 16th captain to direct Ghana to AFCON

Andre Ayew becomes the 16th captain to direct Ghana to AFCON


Sports News of Wednesday, 29 May 2019

Resource: asempanews.com


Andre Ayew Smile Andre Ayew

Fenerbache forward, Andre Ayew has turn out to be the 16th captain to direct the nation to 32nd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

Ghana have booked their location in this year’s event and are in Group F along with Cameroon, Guinea Bissau and Benin.

Head coach of the Black Stars on Friday, Could 24 named Andre Ayew as the substantial captain of the team with Asamoah Gyan currently being created the common captain of the crew.

Inter Milan midfield kingpin, Kwadwo Asamoah has been named as the deputy skipper for the Black Stars.

Even so, the first participant to lead the Black Stars in the Africa Cup of Nations was Aggrey Fyn in 1963 in Ghana’s maiden visual appeal.

The Black Stars beat them all to do a ‘host and win’.

Previous Olympic Marseille star and former Africa Player of the Yr award winner, Abedi Pele has captained the Black Stars at four distinct Africa Cup of Nations, the maximum by any captain of the senior male countrywide soccer staff of Ghana (1992, 1994, 1996 and 1998).

This is followed by Asamoah Gyan, who has led the participating in system of the Black Stars in 3 AFCONs (2013, 2015 and 2017).

In all Ghana have experienced sixteen various skippers at the Africa Cup of Nations.

Four captains have managed to get trophies for the Black Stars particularly Aggrey Fyn, Addo Odametey, Awuley Quaye and Emmanuel Quarshie.

Below are the checklist of players that have led the region to the continent very best match.

1963 – Aggrey Fyn

1965 – Addo Odametey

1968 – Wilberforce Mfum

1970 – John Eshun

1978 – Awuley Quaye

1980 – Kuuku Dadzie

1982 – Emmanuel Quarshie

1984 – Isaac Paha

1992 – Abedi Pele

1994 – Abedi Pele

1996 – Abedi Pele

1998 – Abedi Pele

2000 – CK Akonnor

2002 – Emmanuel Osei Kuffour

2006 – Stephen Appiah

2008 – Stephen Appiah

2010 – Michael Essien

2012 – John Mensah

2013 – Asamoah Gyan

2015 – Asamoah Gyan

2017 – Asamoah Gyan

2019 – Andre Ayew (If he stays match right up until June 21 when the competition kicks off)

Source hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here