Home World Last 10 contenders named in race to No 10

Last 10 contenders named in race to No 10


The final candidates for the Tory leadership race have been verified, with 10 running to turn out to be the following PM.

Jeremy Hunt, Dominic Raab, Matt Hancock and Michael Gove – who released their campaigns in advance of the nomination deadline – are all on the remaining record.

Conservative MPs will now get aspect in a series of votes to whittle the candidates down to the remaining two.

The two MPs will then facial area the wider Tory membership to determine on the next leader of their party, and the region.

Vice chairman of the party’s backbench 1922 committee Dame Cheryl Gillan introduced the record.

The candidates are:

  • Ecosystem Secretary Michael Gove
  • Overall health Secretary Matt Hancock
  • Former Chief Whip Mark Harper
  • International Secretary Jeremy Hunt
  • Household Secretary Sajid Javid
  • Previous International Secretary Boris Johnson
  • Former Leader of the Property Andrea Leadsom
  • Former Do the job and Pensions Secretary Esther McVey
  • Former Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab
  • Intercontinental Enhancement Secretary Rory Stewart

To be allowed to operate, the MPs required to have a proposer, a seconder and the aid of 6 other members.

Sam Gyimah, the only contender backing a further referendum on Brexit, withdrew from the race shortly right after nominations shut, declaring there was not ample time to construct support.

Mrs May possibly officially stepped down as the chief of the Conservative Social gathering very last week, but will continue to be as primary minister right up until her successor is decided on.


Supply connection


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here