Home World Parliament approves all 4 new Supreme Court justices

Parliament approves all 4 new Supreme Court justices


Parliament has accepted all the 4 persons nominated by President Akufo-Addo to the Supreme Courtroom bench.

This comes after Parliament’s Appointment Committee advisable the approval of the nominees – Justice Issifu Tanko Amadu Prof Henrietta Mensah-Bonsu Yoni Kulendi and Justice Clemence Honyenuga – by consensus.

From left: Prof. Henrietta Mensah-Bonsu, Yoni Kulendi, Justice Clemence Honyenuga and Justice Issifu Tanko Amadu

Despite previously objections, the Minority backed the acceptance of Justice Honyenuga whom they accused of likely versus the ethics of his occupation when he publicly endorsed President Akuf-Addo’s next phrase bid.

The Position Member on Parliament’s Constitutional and Lawful Affairs Committee, Inusah Fuseini, for occasion had stated he was not able to help the nominee’s elevation to the Apex Court.

Justice Honyenuga who doubles as the Paramount Main of the Nyagbo Conventional Place claimed the feedback do not reflect his personal watch and that they had been made on behalf of the chiefs and men and women of the region.

The Tamale Central MP explained that his rationale is mostly due to difficulties with the nominees’ ethical standing and integrity.

“Why would I approve him,” Fuseini instructed Roland Walker on JoyNews’ AM Show past week.

But talking on the ground of Parliament on Thursday, the Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu mentioned they would not keep Justice Honyenuga’s reviews towards him mainly because he has apologised.

“I do not consider that any individual would want to hold this in opposition to him over and above “I’m sorry” and “I apologise.

“Except that we would urge moral benchmarks and values will have to be held at its best ranges at the level of the Supreme Courtroom. With this remark, I guidance the motion,” he extra.

Source url


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here