Home Entertainment Ghana’s Lois Arde-Acquah wins 2020 Kuenyehia Prize for Present-day Artwork

Ghana’s Lois Arde-Acquah wins 2020 Kuenyehia Prize for Present-day Artwork


Enjoyment of Sunday, 20 December 2020

Resource: Kuulpeeps


Ghanaian  Artist Lois Arde-AcquahGhanaian Artist Lois Arde-Acquah

This 12 months, in spite of the global pandemic, the Kuenyehia Rely on for Modern day Art has held a successful fifth period of its Prize, bringing to the fore compelling creative imagination and storytelling like never found just before with 266 applications from 14 West African nations.

The KPrize is a bi-yearly art competitors aiming at determining, awarding and empowering impending and mid-occupation artists with a vision to globally advance up to date African Art.

The KPrize Grand Jury built up of seasoned artists, art collectors and artwork industry experts in West Africa Sonia Lawson (Togo), Director Palais de Lomé, Azu Nwagbogu (Nigeria), Founder and Director of African Artists’ Basis (AAF) Nu Barretto (Guinea Bissau/France), Award-Profitable Artist Zohra Opoku (Ghana), Award-Winning Artist kari’k?cha seid’ou (Ghana), Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technological know-how (KNUST) has recognized Lois Arde-Acquah (Ghana), as the winner of The 2020 Kuenyehia Prize (KPrize).

The Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technological know-how Artwork graduate, is ideal regarded for her laborious system of hand drawings of her intricate monochrome patterns.

Her performances and installations centered close to her individual body, examine the strategy of ‘repetition’.

With time, her first system of hand drawing with black markers has developed into reducing out designs from black artificial leathers.

“I am notably drawn toward a bodily, mentally and emotionally draining process. One that requires a painstaking determination of oneself to generate one thing. A procedure that is tough, ‘hard’ and just about impossible to accomplish. One that is tiring and sales opportunities to boredom,” she explains.

She joins Kwame Akoto-Bamfo (2015 winner), Brilliant Ackwerh (2016 winner), Nana Opoku (2017 winner) and Yaw Owusu (2018 winner).

Also awarded had been Opoku Mensah (Ghana), as 1st runner up and Chinwe Chigbu (Nigeria), 2nd runner up.

They will respectively obtain teaching, money prizes, and art provides for an estimated value of $5,000, $3,000 and $ 2,000.

Thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic, the awards ceremony and exhibition showcasing the 12 2020 shortlisted artists have been postponed to 2021, the precise date that will be communicated shortly.

Send out your news stories to
and attributes to
. Chat with us by way of WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Resource connection


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here